Interview: Caly Bevier Discusses Her Edgy New Single, “Hate U Sometimes”

James Wood
4 min readJun 3, 2019

--

Photo: Lindsey Byrnes

It’s been a surreal four-year journey for L.A-based pop artist Caly Bevier. Following a trajectory that included overcoming a stage-three cancer diagnosis, earning herself a Golden Buzzer on NBC’s America’s Got Talent — where she was sent directly to the semi-finals by judge Simon Cowell — and an insatiable debut single, “Head Held High,” the inspiring singer-songwriter is back with her brand-new track. The edgy and ethereal “Hate U Sometimes.”

The song is a hauntingly inspired, groove-ridden track with universal appeal. One that describes the empathetic, and at times confrontational, feelings between significant others, partners, and family members.

All relationships have their ups and downs, but Bevier’s message resonates on much a deeper level. A sentiment that says even though we may not always agree, at the end of the day, we can still hold firm to our commitments to each other and say, “You know I love you, don’t you?”

I recently spoke with Bevier about “Hate U Sometimes” and more in this exclusive interview.

What can you tell me about your new single, “Hate U Sometimes?”

Normally, I’ll write all of my songs, but “Hate U Sometimes” was one that was sent to me. I could relate to it on so many different levels. I went in and helped re-write a few parts and the bridge. That’s how it came about.

What’s your typical songwriting process like?

It all happens naturally with producers and writers. Sometimes I’ll go into a session with a bunch of ideas that I may or may not use. Typically, the producers are the ones who will start a track, and then I’ll go lay down some melodies and lyrics.

How would you describe your sound?

I’ve been living in L.A. the past few years building a sound that I’d consider to be edgy-pop. What’s cool is that, in the future, I can go deeper into a more alternative-pop sound. Artists that inspire me are Halsey and Billie Eilish.

You’ve gotten to work with songwriters like Bonnie McKee, who’s worked with Katy Perry among others. What was it like collaborating with her?

It was extremely cool. Bonnie was in one of my first sessions and taught me how to do melodies and be comfortable with getting my ideas across. As a woman, you sometimes feel shy and might not want to say the line. She taught me to be confident and that’s really helped me grow as an artist.

What are some of the other things you’ve learned so far as an artist?

I’m always learning and growing. As an artist, I’ve discovered how I like to write and what I’m good at. I love writing melodies and really getting into the sound of the song.

Did you always know that music would be your calling?

Growing up in a small town where everyone has a normal day job, you’re conditioned to go to college or do certain things in order to achieve success. I’ve always loved to sing but never thought it was the path I was going to take. I thought maybe I’d do something on the fashion or business side of things. Then everything happened all at once. I was diagnosed with cancer, sang at a benefit and afterwards it was like, “All right, you’re going to be a singer.”

Simon Cowell gave your performance the Gold Buzzer on “America’s Got Talent.” What was going through your mind at that moment?

I grew up with American Idol and listening to Simon’s comments about singing. Deep down I knew they were going to like my singing but never in million years did I think I’d get that kind of feedback. I was floating.

What was your AGT experience like?

It was amazing. There was a lot of pressure but everyone was so nice and supportive. I met so many great people who are friends to this day. There’s nothing I’d want to change about the experience.

What are looking forward to about this next phase of your career?

What I’m looking forward to most is to what’s next. I can see things are getting bigger and bigger. I’m always working on new music and there’s talk of doing a few west coast shows as well as radio. Right now, we’re deciding if we want to release a few singles or an entire EP. I’m just excited about the future and the music I’m going to make.

--

--